Spelman chemist receives $1,166,831 NSF award to study students’ self-regulated engagement

nsf4Dr. Leyte Winfield, Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry, Chair of Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Interim Associate Provost of Research, has been awarded a three-year grant through the National Science Foundation’s Improving Undergraduate STEM Education: Education and Human Resources (IUSE: EHR) Program in the amount of $1,166,831. The funds from this award will be used to study 1) students’ agency and metacognitive skillfulness as a function of their self-regulated engagement in chemistry courses and 2) the extent to which the Chemistry Department’s structured learning community, and other innovations, empower this engagement. This project entitled, Collaborative: Student Engagement in a Community-based,  Blended Learning Environment: Perspectives from a Minority Serving Institution supports the department’s efforts to broaden its curriculum to meet the ideals of a liberal arts education while simultaneously providing students with the tools and resources that will aid the in becoming effective problem solvers and critical thinkers.  Dr. Lisa Hibbard, Associate Professor of Chemistry; Dr. Shannon Sung, Assistant Professor of Education; and Dr. Suazette Mooring, Assistant Professor of Chemistry (Georgia State University) will serve as Co-PIs on this project.


Comments & Responses

350 Spelman Lane S.W. Atlanta, GA 30314-4399 • (404) 681-3643 | Copyright 2020 Spelman College